Pacific Northwest Numismatic Association

Home Awards Calendar Clubs Exhibits Links
Membership News PNNA Info Reference Sponsors YN's
PNNA Home / Info / Board / 20030118
Minutes of PNNA board meeting
18 January 2003, Kent, Washington

The meeting was called to order by President Scott Loos at 5:18 PM. Present were vice president Larry Gaye, secretary/treasurer Joseph Boling, directors Richard Billings, Del Cushing, Bill Henderson, Eric Holcomb, Lisa Loos, Bill McKivor, Bill Roark, Larry Rowe, and Bruce Wonder, dealer director Dale Reubisch, and members Les Copan, Rob Retz, Michael Pepka, and Mark Emtman.

  • Moved and seconded (Billings/Henderson) to approve the minutes of the meeting of 7 September 2002. Passed.

  • Moved and seconded (Gaye/Lisa Loos) to accept the treasurer’s report (subject to audit). Passed.

  • Moved and seconded (Holcomb/Billings) to nominate Walt Ostromecki for ANA governor. Passed.

  • Moved and seconded (Gaye/McKivor) to nominate Michael Fey for ANA governor. Passed.

  • Moved and seconded (Gaye/Lisa Loos) to nominate Art Fitts for ANA governor. Passed.

Show report. Security is lined up, the educational program is under development, and the Tukwila Community Center is ready for us. There is one table left unsold. We will start a waiting list soon. McKivor suggested that we need a “name” speaker for the numismatic theater. Who to ask and how much to spend to bring and lodge him/her are left to the show committee. [It will be ANA collections manager Chris Connell.]

Greg Franck-Weiby (moneyer) is making a special coin for the Portland ANA 2004 convention. Dies would be $100 each plus the costs of planchets. We could have souvenirs for registration (pewter) and silver pieces for sale at the show. The show committee will proceed to explore this opportunity.

Web site report. The web site is still getting over 100 page-views per day. ANA is hosting it now, so we are no longer paying hosting fees. The webmaster (Eric Holcomb) is looking for articles, current information on shows, and other content to place on our site.

Other business
  • ANA summer seminar scholarship applications are out. The scholarship is open to any PNNA member. Dues must be submitted with the application if the applicant is not a member. The deadline is 15 March. The review committee is Scott Loos, Lisa Loos, and Kathy Rowe.

  • It is time for nominations for the Bob Everett award.

  • The PNNA is again running the “design a quarter” program for 5th and 6th grade students. The Seattle Numismatic Society is going to operate the program in up to 25 classrooms; other clubs are also involved. PNNA funds awards for up to two classrooms per school; participating clubs provide the balance of awards. The designs of individual classroom winners will go to the PNNA convention for final judging.

  • PNNA educational seminar — the committee is working on fall 2003. The Courtyard Marriott (the convention HQ hotel) is not expensive if we use the hotel’s food service. We can also get the ANA involved, making it an official ANA educational forum, but also splitting any profit that is made. We could still pick the topics, and the ANA would assist in recruiting speakers (and ANA would cover some of the logistics, such as processing registration and issuing completion certificates). The committee is looking for the board’s preference for direction. Moved and seconded (Gaye/Rowe) to do a joint project with the ANA. Question from Holcomb — would our committee still be responsible for picking the topic? Yes. We are looking at doing parallel topics, two at the same event. Passed.

  • Cushing — the casino chip collectors want to use a room in the Tukwila Community Center for a low-level bourse on Sunday of the convention. Billings — it’s probably OK, but we need to coordinate with the community center and look at how admission fees would be handled. Some reservations were expressed by members present. Holcomb — the show committee should have discretion to rent it out if appropriate. No motion was presented.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:00 PM.

Minutes recorded and transcribed by Joseph E. Boling.