Pacific Northwest Numismatic Association

Home Awards Calendar Clubs Exhibits Links
Membership News PNNA Info Reference Sponsors YN's
PNNA Home / Awards / Nystrom

Nina Nystrom Memorial Goodwill Ambassador Award Winners

All winners receive an award plaque engraved by the PNNA.
For years not shown, no award was made.

1990 - Nina Nystrom 1992 - Freda Peterson
See PNNA memorial page
Cushing_50.jpg (19487 bytes)
1994 - Del Cushing
1996 - Marge and Don Farnam
See PNNA memorial page

1998 - Kathy and Larry Rowe
Boling_50.jpg (21408 bytes)
1999 - Joseph E. Boling
Gaye_50.jpg (8666 bytes)
2000 - Larry Gaye
Cushing_50.jpg (19487 bytes)
2001 - Del Cushing
Billings_50.jpg (26284 bytes)
2002 - Richard Billings
Holcomb_50.jpg (18899 bytes)
2003 - J. Eric Holcomb
2004 - Rob Retz
See PNNA memorial page
Loos_50.jpg (22451 bytes)
2005 - Lisa and Scott Loos

2006 - Phil Lockwood

2007 - Thomas Sheehan

2009 - Greg Franck-Weiby
Right: Greg received the award from Danny Bisgaard on May 12 at the Salem Coin Club board meeting.

2011 - Walt Ostromecki (right) received the award from PNNA President Lisa Loos (left).

2012 - Gene Wiley (right), active and creative president of the Willamette Coin Club in Portland, received the award from outgoing PNNA President Lisa Loos (left).

2014 - James Free (right), Salem Numismatic Society president and new PNNA board member, received the award from PNNA President Danny Bisgaard (left).
2015 - Liz Iverson
2016 - Anthony Kalt (left) received the award from PNNA president Danny Bisgaard (right). Tony has been active in many ways including with the YNs and Boy Scouts.

2017 - Kevin Charboneau (left) received the award from PNNA president James Reinders (right). Kevin is the current PNNA Tukwila convention general chairman.

2018 - Steve Estes (left) received the award from PNNA president James Reinders (right). Steve is a longtime well-respected Portland-area dealer who has helped to promote collecting.

2019 - Ron Patton (center) received the award from Kevin Charboneau (left) and Rick Schulz (right).
Background Information:

This award was named the "PNNA Goodwill Ambassador Award" until 1997, when it was renamed to honor its first recipient, Nina Nystrom. The award is patterned after the former Krause Numismatic Ambassador Award at the national level, and recognizes individuals who have served as "ambassadors" for the hobby of numismatics in the Pacific Northwest.

Winners are selected by the PNNA president, who need not make an award every year. (The award was only made every two years from 1990 to 1998.)

Nominations should include a narrative describing and giving examples of the person’s role in serving as an “ambassador” in the Pacific Northwest. (See the main awards page for submission details.)